Trip Advisor reviews

“A great morning on a wet and windy day”

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We met Mick outside Bonnyrigg on a wet and windy day. However as soon as we got into the woods, the wind was calmer, the rain held off and we started walking with Mick's Harris Hawk flying close to us, a magnificent site. We were on the lookout for something to catch. We found a live rabbit hole and after 3 minutes, Mick's ferret flushed out a rabbit. The hawk was straight on it, catching it in a flash. What an amazing demonstration.

Mick clearly knew what he was doing and where to go. He explained what he was doing and told us where to stand. Seeing the hawk in its own environment but close up was fascinating.

This was an excellent and enjoyable way to spend a morning. Thank you Mick.

“Fishing and Falconry. Scotland at its best!”

Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a great days fishing with Mick on the Clyde. He sure knows his stuff and taught me lots of different techniques to target the grayling. The real highlight was taking Kass the Harris hawk, Max and Chopper the ferrets hunting and the team caught a rabbit in no time flat! Highly recommended!

Visited January 2017


“Stag party”

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I booked a stag party for 14 people. It was an excellent day out from start to finish. We were picked up by Mik and taken to an a quiet fishing area. Mik made us welcome with a crate of beer and cider for the group.

Mik helped us throughout the whole day. He ensured we knew how to fish properly and hung around us to ensure we were doing good. Mik is very patient with us all day and provided us with a great day.  We even caught fish!

“Outstanding!!! ”

Reviewed October 18, 2015 via mobile

Me and a few buddies took a trip to Scotland from Dallas TX. I've always wanted to book a Falconry trip so I found Mik through his outfitting company Wild Days. What a truly unforgettable experience! A true gentlemen and master of his craft who exceeded my expectations. Without a doubt one of the coolest things I've ever done! With our short time in Edinburgh, he help plan around our schedule and, being a life long local, provided some extra advice on our trip plans. I really can't say enough about this outfitter and plan to visit him again one day to go fishing and another Falconry hunt. Look no further and book this guy, you will not be disappointed. We throw him a little extra as he truly deserved it. Thanks again Mik and Wild days!!

Ask Michael W about Edinburgh Falconry & Fishing


"excellent fishing experience"

 

1st June 2017 Reviewed by Odin C

Michael is really an expert in fishing. I just booked him via his website the day before. His response is fast. He taught me to fly fish on a boat. I get my 1st rainbow trout by fly fishing in my life. I bring it back home and baked it. it is delicious and juicy. He is 2nd to none...

“You won't be disappointed”

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited Edinburgh with my 11 year old son who loves fishing and luckily Mick's company was the first company I contacted. He collected us on time from our hotel and we had a pleasant drive to the fishing lake. We fished from the banks but after a few hours of nibbles and near catches, Mommy was bored but Mick was determined my son should catch a fish. We ended up in a boat in the middle of the lake and lo and behold my son ended up catching a 5lb rainbow trout. My son still tells everyone about fishing in Scotland and I highly recommend Mick and his falcon for a great adventure!!

“Best hunting of my life.”

Reviewed April 24, 2014

I have been living in Scotland nearly two years, and heard about Wild Days from the Falconry Centre at Dalhousie Castle. We went out in the morning, hunting rabbit with two of Mik's top birds, one a seasoned veteran, and the other a rookie. After parking and a 10 minute walk, we started throwing some ferrets down rabbit holes to chase the prey out. 10 minutes in and BOOM! A rabbit sprung out of the hole and Mik's proud hawk jumped right on it. First catch of the day. Another 15 minutes later, and BOOM! Another one!!! It was unreal! We had two rabbits within 30 minutes of getting out of the car! After ANOTHER successful catch, we decided to try another location with Mik's other bird. After an hour of waiting, the bird finally was able to lock on some prey, but it got away. It was apparent that this bird was still getting the hang of it. But after another hour or so, the bird got a second chance. A rabbit jumped out of its hole, ran across the grass into the woods, and the bird jumped after... Amazing to watch a bird get its first proper kill!
4 rabbits in one day! What an amazing trip! I hope to see Mik again for some more hunting.

Ask Matt G about Edinburgh Falconry & Fishing


“Excellent Once in a life time experience”

Reviewed October 27, 2013

My daughter and I went on a falconry hunting experience with Wild Days. Mik, the owner, gave us an excellent day out. It was like being welcomed into the hidden world of stalkers and poachers. Its all legal of course. I felt like a child walking through the woods again with anticipation, being aware of the world around you in a new way, working in partnership with a bird of prey and ferrets to catch a Rabbit. Mik was great, we were part of everything straight away, holding the bird, releasing the ferrets, etc. I don't think there are many people like Mik around, who have been hunting like this since they were a child and let you come and join them. This is the real deal. Professional, humane and real. Do it. Its worth twice the price.

Ask Darius N about Edinburgh Falconry & Fishing

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Trip Advisor Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon